2020 IWMF Anja Niedringhaus Courage in Photojournalism Award

By clicking “Accept All Cookies”, you agree to the storing of cookies on your device to enhance site navigation, analyze site usage, and assist in our marketing efforts. View our Privacy Policy for more information.
Anja Niedringhaus
  • Anja Niedringhaus' approach to photojournalism was best said herself, “I do my job simply to report people’s courage with my camera and with my heart.”

  • The Anja Niedringhaus Courage in Photojournalism Award was created to honor the life and work of Pulitzer Prize-winning AP photographer and IWMF Courage in Journalism Award winner Anja Niedringhaus (1965-2014), with a generous $1 million gift from the Howard G. Buffett Foundation. With this Award, the IWMF celebrates the courageous work of women photojournalists like Anja who inspire us to take action and better understand the world. This courageous work manifests in many different forms which may include but is not limited to conflict or frontline reporting. Past winners included Heidi Levine, Adriane Ohanesian, Stephanie Sinclair, Andrea Bruce, and Eloisa Lopez.

    Recipients of the Courage in Photojournalism Award will receive a cash prize of $20,000 and have their work showcased in Washington, DC. The IWMF will accept applications and third-party nominations in English, French, Chinese or Spanish until February 23, 2020. Please read the eligibility criteria and nomination guidelines, listed below, carefully before submitting a nomination. Entrants must be full-time women photojournalists of any nationality.
  • There is no minimum level of experience needed to apply, nor is working in a dangerous environment a requirement. If you are dedicated to journalism and passionate about your portfolio, apply!
  • Accepting submissions: January 22 to February 23, 2020
    Entries will be accepted in English, French, Chinese, and Spanish.
  • Applications are not accepted based on length of work or engagement in conflict areas. No matter your level of experience, you have a story to tell; if you are dedicated to your work in journalism and passionate about your content, apply!

    Sign up with VISURA and submit to this award are FREE.
Accepting submissions: January 22 to February 23, 2020

January 22, 2020
February 23, 2020
Back to Events
Back to Events